Republic of Malawi

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since 1964; republic under one-party presidential rule established July 6, 1966; constitution amended on June 22, 1993, to provide for multiparty activity following national referendum of June 15; new constitution enacted provisionally as of May 16, 1994, and adopted permanently (as amended) on May 18, 1995.

Area: 45,747 sq. mi. (118,484 sq. km).

Population: 15,936,806 (2012E—UN); 16,777,547 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): LILONGWE (669,021), Blantyre (661,444), Mzuzu (107,345).

Official Language: English. (Chichewa is classified as a national language.)

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (market rate November 1, 2013: 394.43 kwacha = $1US).

President: Joyce BANDA (People’s Party); sworn in on April 7, 2012, to succeed Bingu wa MUTHARIKA (Democratic Progressive Party) who died in office ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles