Republic of Kiribati

I Kiribati

Political Status: Formerly the Gilbert Islands; became a British protectorate in 1892; annexed as the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony in 1915, the Ellice Islands becoming independent as the state of Tuvalu in 1978; present name adopted upon becoming an independent member of the Commonwealth on July 12, 1979.

Area: 313 sq. mi. (811 sq. km).

Population: 103,058 (2010C); 103,248 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BAIRIKI (South Tarawa, 48,000).

Official Language: I-Kiribati (Gilbertese); English is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate November 1, 2013: 1 Australian dollar = $1.06 US). The British Pound is also in circulation.

President: Anote TONG (Boutokaan te Koaua); popularly elected on July 5, 2003, succeeding Teburoro TITO (Maneaban te ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles