Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established May 3, 1947; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 145,850 sq. mi. (377,750 sq. km).

Population: 135,210,095 (2012E—UN); 127,253,075 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2010C): TOKYO (8,945,695), Yokohama (3,688,773), Osaka (2,665,314), Nagoya (2,263,894), Sapporo (1,913,545), Kobe (1,544,200), Kyoto (1,474,015), Fukuoka (1,463,743), Kawasaki (1,425,512), Saitama (1,222,434), Hiroshima (1,173,843), Sendai (1,045,986).

Official Language: Japanese.

Monetary Unit: Yen (market rate November 1, 2013: 98.77 yen = $1US).

Sovereign: Emperor TSUGUNOMIYA AKIHITO; ascended the throne on January 7, 1989, on the death of his father, Showa Emperor MICHINOMIYA HIROHITO.

Heir Apparent: Crown Prince NARUHITO.

Prime Minister: Shinzo ABE (Liberal Democratic Party), elected by the Diet on December 26, 2012, and formally appointed by the emperor on the same day to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles