Italian Republic

Repubblica Italiana

Political Status: Unified state proclaimed in 1861; republic established by national referendum in 1946; under parliamentary constitution effective January 1, 1948.

Area: 116,303 sq. mi. (301,225 sq. km).

Population: 60,850,782 (2013E—UN); 61,482,297 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2012E): ROME (2,639,000), Milan (1,262,000), Naples (959,000), Turin (872,000), Palermo (655,000), Genoa (582,000).

Official Language: Italian (German is also official in Trentino-Alto Adige).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2013: 0.74 euro = $1US).

President of the Republic: Giorgio NAPOLITANO (Democrats of the Left) elected by the electoral college on May 8–10, 2006, and inaugurated on May 15 for a seven-year term, succeeding Carlo Azeglio CIAMPI (independent). Reelected on April 20, 2013, and inaugurated on April 22.

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles