Republic of India


Political Status: Independent since August 15, 1947; republican system instituted by constitution of January 26, 1950.

Area: 1,222,559 sq. mi. (3,166,414 sq. km), excluding approximately 30,160 sq. mi. (78,114 sq. km) of Jammu and Kashmir presently held by Pakistan and 16,480 sq. mi. (42,685 sq. km) held by China.

Population: 1,267,286,430 (2012E—UN); 1,220,800,359 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2011C): NEW DELHI (16,753,235); Mumbai, formerly Bombay (18,414,288); Kolkata, formerly Calcutta (14,112,536); Chennai, formerly Madras (8,696,010); Bengalooru (Bangalore, 8,499,399); Hyderabad (7,749,334); Ahmadabad (6,240,201).

Official Languages: Hindi, English (in addition to other languages that are official at state levels).

Monetary Unit: Rupee (market rate November 1, 2013: 62.33 rupees = $1US).

President: Pranab MUKHERJEE (United Progressive Alliance); elected July 19, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles