Republic of Haiti

République d’Haïti

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed in 1804; republic established in 1859; military-backed regime installed following coup of September 30, 1991; constitutional government reinstated on November 8, 1994.

Area: 10,714 sq. mi. (27,750 sq. km).

Population: 10,308,644 (2012E—UN); 9,894,000 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): PORT-AU-PRINCE (1,249,000), Carrefour (446,000), Cap-Haïtien (112,000).

Official Languages: French, Creole.

Monetary Unit: Gourde (market rate November 1, 2013: 43.40 gourdes = $1US).

President: Michel MARTELLY (Repons Peyizan); elected in second-round balloting on March 20, 2011, and sworn in on May 14 for a five-year term in succession to René PRÉVAL (Front for Hope).

Prime Minister: Laurent S. LAMOTHE; nominated by the president on March 1, 2012, approved by the Senate on April 10, approved ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles