Republic of The Gambia

Political Status: Became an independent member of the Commonwealth on February 18, 1965; republican regime instituted April 24, 1970; Gambian-Senegalese Confederation of Senegambia, formed with effect from February 1, 1982, and dissolved as of September 30, 1989; most recent constitution approved by national referendum on August 8, 1996.

Area: 4,361 sq. mi. (11,295 sq. km).

Population: 1,847,753 (2013E—UN); 1,883,051 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Image 67

Major Urban Center (2005E): BANJUL (metropolitan area, 568,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Dalasi (market rate November 1, 2013: 35.32 dalasis = $1US).

President: Yahya JAMMEH (Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction); installed as chair of the Armed Forces Provisional Ruling Council following military coup that overthrew the government of Alhaji Sir Dawda Kairaba ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles