French Republic

République Française

Political Status: Republic under mixed parliamentary-presidential system established by constitution adopted by referendum of September 28, 1958, and instituted on October 4.

Area: 211,207 sq. mi. (547,026 sq. km).

Population: 64,280,060 (2013E—UN); 65,952,000 (2013E—U.S. Census). Area and population figures are for metropolitan France (including Corsica); for overseas departments and other dependent jurisdictions, see Related Territories, below.

Major Urban Centers (2008E): PARIS (2,211,297), Marseille (851,420), Lyon (474,946), Toulouse (439,553), Nice (344,875), Nantes (283,288), Strasbourg (272,116), Montpellier (252,998), Bordeaux (235,891), Rennes (206,655), Le Havre (178,769), Saint-Étienne (172,696).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2013: 0.74 euro = $1US).

President: François HOLLANDE (Socialist Party); elected for a five-year term in runoff balloting on May 6, 2012, and inaugurated ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles