Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Political Status: Former monarchy; provisional military government formally established September 12, 1974; Marxist-Leninist one-party system instituted September 6, 1984; communist constitution approved by referendum of February 1, 1987, resulting in redesignation of the country as the People’s Democratic Republic of Ethiopia; “state responsibility” assumed by rebel coalition upon surrender of the former regime’s military commander and acting president in Addis Ababa on May 27, 1991; national charter and transitional government approved by multiparty National Conference that met on July 1–5, 1991; present constitution promulgated December 8, 1994; Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia proclaimed August 22, 1995.

Area: 436,349 sq. mi. (1,130,138 sq. km).

Population: 86,886,572 (2012E—UN); 93,877,025 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ADDIS ABABA (2,890,000), Dire Dawa ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles