Republic of Cyprus

Kypriaki Dimokratia (Greek)

Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti (Turkish)

Political Status: Independent republic established August 16, 1960; member of the Commonwealth since March 13, 1961; under ethnic Greek majority regime until coup led by Greek army officers and subsequent Turkish invasion on July 20, 1974; Turkish Federated State proclaimed February 13, 1975, in Turkish-controlled (northern) sector; permanent constitutional status under negotiation (currently suspended) despite proclamation of independent Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) on November 15, 1983.

Area: 3,572 sq. mi. (9,251 sq. km), embracing approximately 2,172 sq. mi. (5,625 sq. km) in Greek-controlled (southern) sector and 1,400 sq. mi. (3,626 sq. km) in Turkish-controlled (northern) sector.

Population: 1,159,317 (2012E—UN); 1,155,403 (2013E—U.S. Census). Includes the population of the Turkish Sector.

Major Urban Centers ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles