Republic of Colombia

República de Colombia

Political Status: Independent Gran Colombia proclaimed 1819; separate state of New Granada established 1831; republican constitution adopted 1886; bipartisan National Front regime instituted in 1958 but substantially terminated in 1974; current constitution promulgated July 5, 1991.

Area: 439,734 sq. mi. (1,138,914 sq. km).

Population: 46,581,823 (2013E—UN); 45,745,783 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2011E): SANTAFÉ DE BOGOTÁ (formerly Bogotá, 8,759,000), Medellín (3,592,000), Cali (2,783,000), Barranquilla (1,886,000), Cartagena (911,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (principal rate November 1, 2013: 1902.80 pesos = $1US).

President: Juan Manuel SANTOS Calderón (Social Party of National Unity); elected in runoff balloting on June 20, 2010, and inaugurated on August 7 for a four-year term, succeeding Álvaro URIBE Vélez (independent).

Vice ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles