Republic of Cameroon

République du Cameroun

Political Status: Independence proclaimed 1960; federation established 1961; one-party unitary republic declared June 2, 1972; multiparty system introduced under legislation approved December 6, 1990.

Area: 183,568 sq. mi. (475,442 sq. km).

Population: 20,559,861 (2012E—UN); 20,549,221 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): YAOUNDÉ; (1,817,524), Douala (1,907,479).

Official Languages: French, English.

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate November 1, 2013: 486.52 CFA francs = $1US). The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 CFA francs = 1 euro.

President: Paul BIYA (Democratic Rally of the Cameroon People); served as prime minister 1975–1982; installed as president on November 6, 1982, to complete the term of Ahmadou Babatoura AHIDJO, who ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles