Federative Republic of Brazil

República Federativa do Brasil

Political Status: Independent monarchy proclaimed 1822; republic established 1889; current constitution promulgated October 5, 1988.

Area: 3,286,470 sq. mi. (8,511,965 sq. km).

Population: 201,492,154 (2012E—UN); 205,716,890 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011): BRASILIA (federal district, 2,609,997), São Paulo (11,316,149), Rio de Janeiro (6,355,949), Salvador (2,693,605), Belo Horizonte (2,385,000), Manaus (1,832,423), Curtiba (1,764,540), Recife (1,546,516), Pôrto Alegre (1,413,094), Belém (1,402,056).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Real (market rate November 1, 2013: 2.26 reals = $1US).

President: Dilma Vana ROUSSEFF (Workers’ Party); elected in runoff balloting on October 31, 2010, and inaugurated on January 1, 2011, for a four-year term, succeeding Luiz Inacio DA SILVA (Workers’ Party).

Vice President: Michel TEMER Lulia (Party of the Brazilian Democratic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles