Bosnia and Herzegovina

Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Republika Bosna i Hercegovina (BiH)

Constituent “Entities”:

Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Federacija Bosne i Hercegovine (FBiH)

Serb Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Republika Srpska Bosne i Hercegovine (RS)

Political Status of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH): Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; declared independence on March 3, 1992. (The Dayton agreement of November 21, 1995, specified that the institutions of the existing republic’s government were to function until the holding of countrywide elections, after which a new central government would be formed with joint FBiH-RS participation and retention of purely internal functions by each of the two constituent “entities.” The existence of a single state of Bosnia and Herzegovina and other provisions ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles