Plurinational State of Bolivia

Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1825; civilian government reestablished in October 1982 after virtually constant military rule since September 1969; present constitution promulgated on February 7, 2009.

Area: 424,162 sq. mi. (1,098,581 sq. km).

Population: 10,624,495 (2012E—UN); 10,461,053 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LA PAZ (administrative capital, 835,400), Sucre (judicial capital, 284,000), Santa Cruz (1,616,100), Cochabamba (618,400), Oruro (216,700).

Official Languages: Spanish, Aymará, Quechua (Aymará and Quechua were adopted as official languages in 1977).

Monetary Unit: Boliviano (market rate November 1, 2013: 6.91 bolivianos = $1US).

President: Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (Movement to Socialism); elected December 18, 2005, and inaugurated January 22, 2006, for a five-year term, succeeding Interim President Eduardo RODRÍGUEZ Veltsé (Nonparty); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles