People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Ganaprojatantri Bangladesh

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed March 26, 1971; de facto independence achieved December 16, 1971; republican constitution of December 16, 1972, suspended following coup of March 24, 1982, but restored on November 10, 1986; parliamentary system (abandoned in favor of presidential system in January 1975) restored by referendum of September 15, 1991.

Area: 55,598 sq. mi. (143,999 sq. km).

Population: 153,501,050 (2012E—UN); 161,083,803 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): DHAKA (Dacca, 6,788,000), Chittagong (2,640,000), Khulna (881,000).

Official Language: Bangla (Bengali).

Monetary Unit: Taka (official rate November 5, 2012: 81.64 takas = $1US).

President: Mohammad Zillur RAHMAN (Awami League); as the only candidate, declared president-elect by the Election Commission on February 11, 2009, and sworn in the following day for a five-year term, succeeding Iajuddin AHMED (nonparty), whose ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles