Republic of Angola

República de Angola

Political Status: Formally independent upon departure of the Portuguese High Commissioner on November 10, 1975; government of the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) recognized by the Organization of African Unity on February 11, 1976; peace accord signed with rebel National Union for the Total Independence of Angola on June 1, 1991; multiparty democratic system approved by constitutional amendment on August 26, 1992; new constitution promulgated on February 2010 provides for mixed presidential-parliamentary system.

Image 5

Area: 481,351 sq. mi. (1,246,700 sq. km).

Population: 20,216,872 (2012E—UN); 18,056,072 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): LUANDA (urban area, 2,825,000).

Official Language: Portuguese (although most Angolans speak tribal languages).

Monetary Unit: Kwanza (market rate November 5, 2012: 95.73 kwanzas = $1US).

President: José Eduardo DOS SANTOS (Popular Movement for the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles