Republic of Albania

Republika e Shqipëri

Political Status: Independent state since 1912; Communist regime established in 1946; interim democratic constitution adopted April 29, 1991; permanent constitution approved by national referendum on November 22, 1998, and signed into law by the president on November 28.

Area: 11,100 sq. mi. (28,748 sq. km).

Population: 3,282,246 (2012E—UN); 3,002,859 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TIRANË (TIRANA, 387,000), Durrës (107,000), Elbasan (90,000), Shkodër (83,000), Vlorë (80,000), Korçë (53,000).

Official Language: Albanian.

Monetary Unit: Lek (market rate November 5, 2012: 109.36 lekë = $1US).

President: Bujar NISHANI (formerly Democratic Party of Albania [PDS]); elected in the fourth round of voting by the People’s Assembly on June 11, 2012, and sworn in for a five-year term on July 24, succeeding Bamir TOPI (formerly PDS). (Upon election the president is ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles