United Nations: Specialized Agencies

The United Nations has designated 16 organizations as Specialized Agencies, 14 of which are discussed here. This edition of the Handbook does not include separate articles on 2 agencies whose activities are largely technical: the Universal Postal Union (UPU), which traces its origins to the 1874 Treaty Concerning the Establishment of a General Postal Union (the Berne Treaty), and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), successor to the International Meteorological Organization (founded in 1878). Appendix C lists the members of all 16 Specialized Agencies.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Established: By constitution signed in Quebec, Canada, October 16, 1945. The FAO became a UN Specialized Agency by agreement with the Economic and Social Council (approved by the General Assembly on December 14, 1946).

Purpose: “To ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles