Republic of Vanuatu

République de Vanuatu (French)

Ripablik blong Vanuatu (Bislama)

Note: In parliamentary elections held on October 30, 2012, the Party of Our Land, led by opposition leader Edward Natapei, won eight seats—the largest number of seats won by any single party. However, incumbent prime minister Sato Kilman, whose People’s Progressive Party won six seats, was able to form a coalition government with 10 other parties.

Political Status: Formerly the New Hebrides; became the Anglo-French Condominium of the New Hebrides in 1906; present name adopted upon becoming an independent member of the Commonwealth on July 30, 1980.

Area: 4,647 sq. mi. (12,035 sq. km).

Population: 252,792 (2012E—UN); 227,574 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): VILA (Port Vila, 36,600).

Official Languages: English, French, Bislama. The last, a pidgin dialect, is recognized constitutionally as ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles