Republic of Uzbekistan

Ozbekiston Respublikasi

Political Status: Eastern portion of Turkistan Soviet Socialist Republic detached on October 27, 1924, to form Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic within the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR); became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on May 12, 1925; declared independence as Republic of Uzbekistan on August 31, 1991; present constitution adopted on December 8, 1992.

Area: 172,740 sq. mi. (447,400 sq. km).

Population: 28,337,880 (2012E—UN); 28,394,180 (2012E—US Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TASHKENT (2,167,000), Namangan (375,000), Samarkand (360,000), Andijan (323,000).

Official Language: Uzbek. Russian remains the principal everyday language.

Monetary Unit: Uzbekistani Som (market rate November 5, 2012: 1,956.22 som = $1US).

President: Islam A. KARIMOV (Liberal Democratic Party); elected to the new office of president by the Supreme Soviet on March 24, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles