United Arab Emirates

al-Imarat al-Arabiyah al-Muttahidah

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujairah, Ajman, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaimah, joined in 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km).

Population: 4,106,427 (2005C), embracing (2009 estimates) Abu Dhabi (1,628,000), Dubai (1,722,000), Sharjah (1,017,000), Ras al-Khaimah (241,000), Ajman (250,000), Fujairah (152,000), and Umm al-Qaiwain (56,000); 8,111,282 (2012E—UN). Figures include noncitizens, who in 2010 constituted approximately 83 percent of the population, according to the government, which at that time estimated the total population at 8.2 million.

Major Urban Center (2005E): ABU DHABI (606,000).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Emirati Dirham (market rate November 12, 2012: 3.67 dirhams = $1US).

Supreme Council: Composed of the rulers of the seven emirates (with dates of accession): Sheikh Khalifa ibn ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles