Republic of Tunisia

al-Jumhuriyah al-Tunisiyah

Political Status: Independent state since 1956; republic proclaimed July 25, 1957; under one-party dominant, presidential regime; interim government formed following civil unrest that resulted in the ouster of the president on January 14, 2011.

Area: 63,170 sq. mi. (163,610 sq. km).

Population: 10,837,703 (2012E—UN); 10,732,900 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TUNIS (734,000), Sfax (Safaqis, 269,000), Ariana (252,000), Ettadhamen (116,000).

Official Language: Arabic; French is widely spoken as a second language.

Monetary Unit: Tunisian Dinar (market rate November 5, 2012: 1.58 dinars = $1US).

Interim President: Moncef MARZOUKI, elected by the Constituent Assembly on December 12, 2011, following the interim presidency of Fouad MBAZAÂ, named by the Constitutional Council on January 15, 2011, following a one-day interim presidency by Prime Minister Mohamed GHANNOUCHI, who succeeded President Gen. Zine ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles