Kingdom of Swaziland

Political Status: Independent monarchy within the Commonwealth since September 6, 1968.

Area: 6,703 sq. mi. (17,363 sq. km).

Population: 1,225,455 (2012E—UN); 1,386,914 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): MBABANE (administrative capital, 78,000), Lobamba (royal and legislative capital, 11,000), Manzini (33,000).

Official Languages: English, siSwati.

Monetary Unit: Lilangeni (official rate November 5, 2012: 8.74 emalangeni = $1US). The lilangeni is at par with the South African rand.

Sovereign: King MSWATI III; installed on April 25, 1986, succeeding (as Head of State) Queen Regent Ntombi THWALA.

Prime Minister: Sibusiso Barnabas DLAMINI; appointed by the king on October 16, 2008, and sworn in on October 23 to succeed Absalom Themba DLAMINI. (Sibasiso Dlamini had also held the post in 1996–2003.)

The Country

Bordered on the north, west, and south by South Africa and on the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles