Kingdom of Spain

Reino de España

Political Status: Formerly under a system of personal rule instituted in 1936; monarchy reestablished November 22, 1975, in accordance with the Law of Succession of July 26, 1947, as amended in 1969 and 1971; parliamentary monarchy confirmed by constitution effective December 29, 1978.

Area: 194,896 sq. mi. (504,782 sq. km).

Population: 49,222,156 (2012E—UN); 47,042,984 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Areas (2005E): MADRID (3,192,000), Barcelona (1,621,000), Valencia (798,000), Seville (703,000), Zaragoza (648,000), Málaga (543,000), Bilbao (352,000).

Official Languages: Spanish and regional languages (principally Basque, Catalan, Galician, and Valencian).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 5, 2012: 0.78 euro = $1US).

Monarch: JUAN CARLOS I de Borbón y Borbón; invested before the Spanish Legislative Assembly in 1969; sworn in as king on November 22, 1975, following the death of the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles