Republic of Slovenia

Republika Slovenija

Note: On December 2, Borut Pahor (Social Democrats) defeated incumbent Danilo Türk (nonparty) in the second round of presidential balloting, 67.4 percent to 32.6 percent. Pahor was inaugurated on December 22, becoming the youngest president in the country’s history.

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence declared June 25, 1991, on the basis of a referendum held December 23, 1990; present constitution adopted December 23, 1991.

Area: 7,818 sq. mi. (20,251 sq. km).

Population: 2,130,202 (2012E—UN); 1,996,617 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LJUBLJANA (256,000), Maribor (92,000).

Official Language: Slovene.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 5, 2012: 0.77 euro = $1US). Slovenia adopted the euro as its official currency on January 1, 2007. Its former currency was the tolar.

President: (See headnote.) ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles