Slovak Republic

Slovenská Republika

Political Status: Slovak Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic (see article on Czech Republic) on January 1, 1993.

Area: 18,933 sq. mi. (49,035 sq. km).

Population: 5,633,777 (2012E—UN); 5,483,088 (2012E–U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BRATISLAVA (423,000), Košice (234,000), Prešov (92,000).

Official Language: Slovak.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 5, 2012: 0.78 euro = $1US). The monetary unit was the koruna until Slovakia adopted the euro on January 1, 2009, at an exchange rate of 30.1260 koruny = 1 euro. (The official rate of the koruna on December 31, 2008, was 21.45 koruny = $1US.)

President: Ivan GAŠPAROVIČ; popularly elected (as the candidate of the People’s Union–Movement for Democracy) in runoff balloting on April 17, 2004, and inaugurated on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles