Sierra Leone

Republic of Sierra Leone

Note: In elections held on November 17, 2012, Ernest Koroma (All People’s Congress) won a second term as president, defeating opponent Julius Maada Bio (Sierra Leone People’s Party) and seven other candidates. The All People’s Congress also strengthened its parliamentary majority, winning 67 seats to the Sierra Leone People’s Party’s 42.

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since April 27, 1961; republic proclaimed April 19, 1971; one-party constitution adopted June 1978; multiparty constitution approved by popular referendum on August 23–30, 1991, with effect from September 24; government overthrown in military coup of April 29, 1992; ruling military council overthrown and replaced by “reconstituted” military council on January 16, 1996; democratically elected president inaugurated on March 29, 1996; government overthrown in military coup ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles