Republic of Senegal

République du Sénégal

Political Status: Former French dependency, independent since August 20, 1960; presidential system established under constitution promulgated March 7, 1963; Senegalese-Gambian Confederation of Senegambia, formed with effect from February 1, 1982, dissolved as of September 30, 1989.

Area: 75,750 sq. mi. (196,192 sq. km).

Population: 13,125,027 (2012E—UN); 12,969,606 (2012—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DAKAR (2,167,000).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate November 5, 2012: 513.15 francs = $1US). The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 francs = 1 euro.

President: Macky SALL (APR-Yakaar); elected in second-round balloting on March 18, 2012, and inaugurated for a seven-year term on April 2 in succession to Abdoulaye WADE (Senegalese Democratic Party).

Prime Minister: Abdoul MBAYE (Independent); appointed ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles