Sao Tome and Principe

Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe

República Democrática de São Tomé e Príncipe

Note: Prime Minister Trovoada lost a nonconfidence motion in the National Assembly on November 28, 2012, as all legislators except those belonging to Trovoada’s party supported his ouster. He was succeeded as prime minister by former prime minister Gabriel Costa, who formed a new cabinet on December 12.

Political Status: Achieved independence from Portugal on July 12, 1975; constitution of November 5, 1975, revised in December 1982, October 1987, August 1990, and March 2003.

Area: 387 sq. mi. (1,001 sq. km).

Population: 172,961 (2012E—UN); 183,176 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2008E): SÃO TOMÉ (62,500).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Dobra (market rate November 5, 2012: 18,780.03 dobras = $1US).

Image 160

President: Manuel PINTO DA COSTA (independent); directly elected in runoff ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles