Republic of the Philippines

Republika ng Pilipinas

Political Status: Independent republic since July 4, 1946; currently under constitution adopted by referendum of February 2, 1987, effective from February 11.

Area: 115,830 sq. mi. (300,000 sq. km).

Population: 96,912,186 (2012E—UN); 103,775,002 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): MANILA (de facto capital, 1,510,000), QUEZON CITY (designated capital, 2,375,000), Caloocan City (1,357,000), Davao (816,000), Cebu (783,000).

Official Languages: Pilipino and English.

Monetary Unit: Philippine Peso (market rate November 5, 2012: 41.23 pesos = $1US).

President: Benigno S. AQUINO III (Liberal Party); popularly elected on May 10, 2010, and inaugurated on June 30 for a six-year term; succeeding Gloria MACAPAGAL-ARROYO (Lakas Kampi Christian Muslim Democrats).

Vice President: Jejomar C. BINAY (Filipino Democratic Party–Laban); elected for a six-year term on May 10, 2010, and sworn in on June ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles