Republic of Nicaragua

República de Nicaragua

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed 1821; separate republic established 1838; provisional junta installed July 19, 1979; present constitution adopted November 19, 1986, in effect from January 9, 1987.

Area: 50,193 sq. mi. (130,000 sq. km).

Population: 6,014,547 (2012E—UN); 5,727,707 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): MANAGUA (1,166,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Córdoba Oro (principal rate November 5, 2012: 23.97 córdobas = $1US).

President: José Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra (Sandinista National Liberation Front); served as president 1985–1990; reelected on November 5, 2006, and inaugurated for a five-year term on January 10, 2007, succeeding Enrique BOLAÑOS Geyer (Grand Liberal Union); reelected on November 6, 2011, and inaugurated on January 10, 2012, for an unprecedented third term.

Vice President: Omar HALLESLEVENS Acevedo (Sandinista National Liberation Front); elected on November 6, 2011, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles