Republic of Nauru


Political Status: Independent republic since January 31, 1968; special membership in the Commonwealth changed to full membership on May 1, 1999.

Area: 8.2 sq. mi. (21.3 sq. km).

Population: 9,378 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers: None; the Domaneab (“meeting place of the people”), which is the site of the Nauru Local Government Council, is located in Uaboe District, while government offices are located in Yaren District.

Official Languages: English, Nauruan.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate November 5, 2012: 0.96 dollar = $1US).

President: Sprent DABWIDO; elected by Parliament on November 15, 2011, following the obligatory resignation of Frederick PITCHER the same day in the wake of a successful nonconfidence motion against him. (Pitcher had been elected on November 10 following the resignation of Marcus STEPHEN.)

The Country

An isolated coral ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles