Monggol Ulus

Political Status: Independent since 1921; Communist People’s Republic established November 26, 1924; multi-party system introduced by constitutional amendment of May 11, 1990; current constitution adopted January 13, 1992, in effect from February 12.

Area: 604,247 sq. mi. (1,565,000 sq. km).

Population: 2,863,495 (2012E—UN); 3,179,997 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ULAANBAATAR (Ulan Bator, 936,000), Erdenet (82,000), Darhan (64,000), Choybalsan (40,000).

Monetary Unit: Tugrik (market rate November 5, 2012: 1,397.49 tugriks = $1US).

Official Language: Khalkha Mongol.

Image 122

President: Tsakhiagiyn ELBEGDORJ (Democratic Party), popularly elected for a four-year term on May 24, 2009, and sworn in on June 18, succeeding Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party).

Prime Minister: Norovyn ALTANKHUYAG (Democratic Party); nominated by the president on July 16, 2012, and confirmed by the State Great Hural on August 8, succeeding Sukhbaatar BATBOLD ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles