Republic of Moldova

Republica Moldova

Political Status: Formerly the Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic, a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; declared independence as the Republic of Moldova on August 27, 1991; became sovereign member of the Commonwealth of Independent States on December 21, 1991; new constitution approved on July 28, 1994, and entered into force on August 27.

Area: 13,000 sq. mi. (33,670 sq. km).

Population: 3,599,249 (2012E—UN); 3,656,843 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): CHIŞINǍU (formerly Kishinev, 596,000), Tiraspol (185,000), Tighina (125,00), Bălţi (123,000).

Official Language: Moldovan.

Monetary Unit: Moldovan leu (official rate November 5, 2012: 12.33 leu = $1US).

President: Nicolae TIMOFTI (ind.); sworn in for a four-year term on March 23, 2012, and assumed office on the same day, replacing Marian LUPU (Democratic Party); named acting president ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles