Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Area: 70 sq. mi. (181 sq. km).

Population: 68,480 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DALAP-ULIGA-DARRIT (Majuro Atoll; 26,000).

Official Languages: Marshallese. English is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see the entry on United States for principal exchange rates).

President: Christopher J. LOEAK (Our Islands); elected by the House of Representatives following the legislative elections on November 21, 2011, and inaugurated (along with his new cabinet) on January 17, 2012, to succeed Jurelang ZEDKAIA.

The Country

The Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI) consists of a double chain of coral atolls and islands (comprising 29 atolls, 5 single islands, and more than 850 reefs) within ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles