Republic of Maldives

Dhivehi Jumhuriyah

Political Status: Former British protectorate; independent since July 26, 1965; sultanate replaced by republican regime November 11, 1968; present constitution promulgated August 7, 2008.

Area: 115 sq. mi. (298 sq. km).

Population: 326,718 (2012E—UN); 394,451 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): MALÉ (88,000).

Official Language: Dhivehi.

Monetary Unit: Maldivian Rufiyaa (market rate November 5, 2012: 15.30 rufiyaa = $1US).

President: Mohammed WAHEED Hassan Manik (National Unity Party); sworn in on February 7, 2012, following the resignation of Mohamed NASHEED (Maldivian Democratic Party) who had been elected for a five-year term in a runoff election on October 29, 2008, and inaugurated on November 11.

Vice President: Mohamed Waheed DEEN (independent); appointed on February 8, 2012, to replace Mohammed WAHEED Hassan Manik (National Unity Party) who was appointed president on February ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles