Republic of Korea


Political Status: Independent republic established on August 15, 1948; present constitution approved in a national referendum on October 27, 1987, effective February 25, 1988.

Area: 38,309 sq. mi. (99,221 sq. km).

Population: 49,697,009 (2012E—UN); 48,860,500 (2012—US Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): SEOUL (9,572,000), Pusan (3,566,000), Taegu (2,625,000), Inchon (2,567,000), Taejon (1,467,000), Kwangju (1,451,000), Ulsan (928,000).

Official Language: Korean.

Monetary Unit: South Korean Won (market rate November 5, 2012: 1091.95 won = $1US).

President: (See headnote.) LEE Myung Bak (Grand National Party); elected on December 19, 2007, and sworn in for a five-year term on February 25, 2008, succeeding ROH Moo Hyun (previously Uri Party; initially Millennium Democratic Party).

Image 95

Prime Minister: KIM Hwang Sik (nonparty); nominated by the president on September 16, 2010, and confirmed by the National Assembly on October 1, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles