Republic of Iceland

LyÐveldiÐ Ísland

Political Status: Independent republic established June 17, 1944, when present constitution was adopted, under democratic parliamentary system. Constitution last amended on June 24, 1999.

Area: 39,768 sq. mi. (103,000 sq. km).

Population: 339,699 (2012E—UN); 313,183 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): REYKJAVÍK (114,000).

Official Language: Icelandic.

Monetary Unit: Króna (market rate November 5, 2012: 127.23 krónur = $1US).

President: Dr. Ólafur Ragnar GRÍMSSON (previously People’s Alliance); elected on June 29, 1996, and inaugurated on August 1 for a four-year term, succeeding Vigdís FINNBOGADÓTTIR (nonparty); term extended for an additional four years when no potential opponent met the May 19, 2000, deadline for filing the required number of nominating signatures; reelected on June 26, 2004; and term extended for another four years when no opponent met the May 24, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles