Republic of Haiti

République d’Haïti

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed in 1804; republic established in 1859; military-backed regime installed following coup of September 30, 1991; constitutional government reinstated on November 8, 1994.

Area: 10,714 sq. mi. (27,750 sq. km).

Population: 10,308,644 (2012E—UN); 9,801,664 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): PORT-AU-PRINCE (1,249,000), Carrefour (446,000), Cap-Haïtien (112,000).

Official Languages: French, Creole.

Monetary Unit: Gourde (market rate November 5, 2012: 42.15 gourdes = $1US).

President: Michel MARTELLY (Repons Peyizan); elected in second-round balloting on March 20, 2011, and sworn in on May 14 for a five-year term in succession to René PRÉVAL (Front for Hope).

Prime Minister: Laurent S. LAMOTHE; nominated by the president on March 1, 2012, approved by the Senate on April 10, approved by the Chamber of Deputies on May 3, and inaugurated on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles