Republic of Ghana

Note: Ghana’s president, John Mahama (National Democratic Congress), was reelected on December 7, 2012, winning 50.7 percent of the vote and avoiding a run-off. His opponent, Nana Akufo-Addo (New Patriotic Party), and opposition parties protested the results that were declared to be free and fair by international observers. In concurrent balloting for an expanded 275-seat assembly, the National Democratic Congress won 148 seats, following by the New Patriotic Party, 123, and the People’s National Convention, 1. Three independents were also elected.

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since March 6, 1957; under military control 1966–1969 and 1972–1979; Third Republic overthrown by military coup of December 31, 1981; constitution of Fourth Republic, approved in referendum of April 28, 1992, formally launched on January 7, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles