Federal Republic of Germany

Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Political Status: Divided into British, French, Soviet, and U.S. occupation zones in July 1945; Federal Republic of Germany under democratic parliamentary regime established in Western zones on May 23, 1949; German Democratic Republic established under Communist auspices in Soviet zone on October 7, 1949; unified as the Federal Republic of Germany on October 3, 1990.

Area: 137,854 sq. mi. (357,041 sq. km).

Population: 86,327,863 (2012E—UN); 81,305,856 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2007E): BERLIN (3,416,255), Hamburg (1,770,629), Munich (1,311,573), Cologne (995,397), Frankfurt am Main (659,021), Stuttgart (597,176), Düsseldorf (581,122), Bremen (547,769), Hannover (518,069), Leipzig (510,512), Dresden (507,513), Nürnberg (503,110), Bonn (316,416). Parliament voted in June 1991 to relocate the capital from Bonn to Berlin; the actual transfer occurred during 1999–2000. A 1994 Berlin-Bonn law defined ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles