Republic of the Fiji Islands

Matanitu Tu-Vaka-i-koya ko Viti (Fijian)

Fiji Ripablik (Hindustani)

Political Status: Voluntarily assumed the status of a British dependency in 1874; became an independent member of the Commonwealth on October 10, 1970; republic declared on October 15, 1987; current constitution promulgated on July 25, 1997, with effect from July 27, 1998; constitution abrogated by presidential decree on April 10, 2009; country led by military-backed interim government.

Area: 7,055 sq. mi. (18,272 sq. km).

Population: 880,391 (2012E—UN); 890,057 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center: SUVA, 74,481 (center), 173,137 (urban area) (2007C).

Official Languages: English, Fijian (Na Vosa Vakaviti), and Hindustani (Fijian Hindi).

Monetary Unit: Fiji Dollar (official rate November 5, 2012: 1.77 dollars = $1US).

President (Interim): Ratu Epeli NAILATIKAU; appointed vice president on April 17, 2009, by President Josefa ILOILO; became ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles