El Salvador

Republic of El Salvador

República de El Salvador

Political Status: Part of the Captaincy General of Guatemala that declared independence from Spain in September 1821; member of the United Provinces of Central America that was launched in 1823; status as independent political entity formalized in constitution of 1841; the Republic of El Salvador formally established in constitution of 1859; constitution of 1962 suspended following the military coup of October 15, 1979; provisional government superseded following promulgation of new constitution on December 20, 1983; peace treaty with Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front (FMLN) guerrillas (effective February 1) signed January 16, 1992.

Area: 8,124 sq. mi. (21,041 sq. km).

Population: 6,371,750 (2012E—UN); 6,090,646 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): SAN SALVADOR (508,000), Soyapango (295,000), Mejicanos (189,000), San Miguel (183,000), Santa Ana (179,000).

Official ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles