Dominican Republic

República Dominicana

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1844; under constitutional regime reestablished July 1, 1966.

Area: 18,816 sq. mi. (48,734 sq. km).

Population: 10,339,068 (2012E—UN); 10,088,598 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): SANTO DOMINGO (1,922,000), Santiago de los Caballeros (526,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Dominican Peso (market rate November 5, 2012: 39.61 pesos = $1US).

President: Danilo MEDINA Sanchez (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, and inaugurated on August 16 for a four-year term, succeeding Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna (Dominican Liberation Party).

Vice President: Margarita CEDENO DE FERNANDEZ (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, and inaugurated with the president on August 16 for a term concurrent with that of the president, succeeding Rafael ALBUQUERQUE De Castro (Dominican Liberation Party).

The Country

The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern two-thirds of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles