Republic of Burundi

Republika y’u Burundi (Kirundi)

République du Burundi (French)

Political Status: Independent state since July 1, 1962; military control imposed November 28, 1966; one-party constitution adopted by referendum of November 18, 1981; military control reimposed following coup of September 3, 1987; multiparty constitution adopted March 13, 1992, following referendum of March 9; military rule reimposed following coup of July 25, 1996; transitional constitution signed into law June 6, 1998; new transitional constitution providing for a three-year transitional period adopted October 27, 2001; new constitution (institutionalizing Hutu/Tutsi power sharing) approved by national referendum on February 28, 2005; transitional period concluded with local and national elections in June–September 2005.

Area: 10,747 sq. mi. (27,834 sq. km).

Population: 8,780,879 (2012E—UN); 10,557,259 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BUJUMBURA (407,000).

Official Languages: Kirundi, French ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles