Kingdom of Belgium

Koninkrijk België (Dutch)

Royaume de Belgique (French)

Königreich Belgien (German)

Political Status: Independence proclaimed October 4, 1830; monarchical constitution of 1831 most recently revised in 1970.

Area: 11,781 sq. mi. (30,513 sq. km).

Population: 11,354,432 (2012E—UN); 10,438,353 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BRUSSELS (urban area, 999,000), Antwerp (urban area, 457,000), Ghent (230,000), Charleroi (200,000), Liège (185,000), Bruges (117,000), Namur (106,000).

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 5, 2012: 0.78 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King ALBERT II; ascended the throne on August 9, 1993, following the death of his brother, King BAUDOUIN.

Heir to the Throne: Prince PHILIPPE, son of the king.

Image 20

Prime Minister: Elio Di RUPO (Socialist); appointed by the king on December 5, 2011, and sworn in on December 6, 2011, to succeed Yves LETERME (Christian Democratic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles