Commonwealth of the Bahamas

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since July 10, 1973.

Area: 5,380 sq. mi. (13,935 sq. km.).

Population: 355,406 (2012E—UN); 316,182 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): NASSAU (227,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Bahamian Dollar (principal rate October 3, 2011: 1.00 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir Arthur FOULKES; appointed on April 13, 2010, following the resignation of Arthur Dion HANNA.

Prime Minister: Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM (Free National Movement); served as prime minister 1992–1997; returned to office on May 4, 2007, as a successor to Perry G. CHRISTIE (Progressive Liberal Party), following election of May 2.

The Country

The Commonwealth of the Bahamas encompasses a group of about 700 flat, coral islands stretching from the western Atlantic near Florida to the Caribbean Sea. Geomorphically an extension ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles