Antigua and Barbuda

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since November 1, 1981.

Area: 171.5 sq. mi. (444 sq. km.), encompassing the main island of Antigua (108 sq. mi.) and the dependent islands of Barbuda (62 sq. mi.) and Redonda (0.5 sq. mi.).

Population: 89,018 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): ST. JOHN'S (22,700).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate October 3, 2011: 2.70 EC dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Dame Louise LAKE—TACK; inaugurated on July 17, 2007, to succeed Sir James B. CARLISLE.

Prime Minister: Winston Baldwin SPENCER (United Progressive Party); sworn in March 24, 2004, following election of March 23, succeeding Lester Bryant BIRD (Antigua Labour Party); reappointed following election of March 12, 2009.

The Country

Located ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles