Principality of Andorra

Principat d'Andorra (Catalan)

Principalité d'Andorre (French)

Principado de Andorra (Spanish)

Political Status: Sovereign “parliamentary co-principality,” with the president of the French Republic and the Spanish Bishop of Urgell possessing certain powers as joint heads of state under constitution approved March 14, 1993, with effect from May 4.

Area: 180 sq. mi. (467 sq. km.).

Population: 85,082 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): ANDORRA LA VELLA (22,000).

Official Language: Catalan (French, Spanish, and Portuguese are also used).

Monetary Units: There is no local currency. The French franc and the Spanish peseta both circulated until 2002, when Andorra adopted the euro (market rate October 3, 2011: 1 euro = $1.33US).

French Co-Prince: Nicolas SARKOZY; became co-prince May 16, 2007, upon inauguration as president of the French Republic.

Permanent French Delegate: Christian FRÉMONT.

Spanish Episcopal Co-Prince: Mgr. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles